BOOK REVIEW: Sweet Dreams, a novel BY MASSIMO GRAMELLINI

Sweet Dreams, a novel

by Massimo Gramellini

massimo-gramellini-fai-bei-sogni

Review by Giulia Bertelli

[Traduzione in italiano in basso]

I often let myself go to prejudices that I build myself. It’s enough to take a book at the wrong time of the year, then I don’t give it the right attention and I end up putting in a corner all the books written by a certain author. It could happen that I base my opinions on those of others too much and that I don’t take some works in consideration.
Some days ago I was in the library for work, I had some time and I decided to look through the shelves without a purpose or a certain name to find.
I decided to let myself be carried away by titles, plots and I found some things.
I didn’t bring all those books home with me, I’m trying to be good and to follow my reading list. A book, however, had to come with me, Sweet dreams, a novel by Massimo Gramellini. I spent most of the 2012 having a gut feeling about this book, but I never got near it.
One of the positive sides of taking books from a library is you can make a mistake. You can throw yourself in unexplored horizons without fearing of hurting yourself. You try a book, between the two of you doesn’t work out and the next day you can take it back.
But, more often, you take an inspiration, you bring it into your home and you fall in love.

Did it happen with this Sweet dreams? More or less. On the way home I started to read it, I continued on the way I have to walk from the tram to home and I think I put down the book just to say hello to my boyfriend, eat, get distracted for about an hour and then I continued. I didn’t finish it in the night, sadly I happen to need to sleep, I hold myself up until I fell with the head in the book.
But in the morning, as soon as I was woke I started again and in the afternoon it was finished.
Clear deduction: I liked it.
I can’t say it’s love and I don’t know why. It’s not the writing: it’s fast and it flows away without being ordinary. The plot is good, it is autobiographical and you can feel it. Maybe I was expecting more introspection, there is some, but I would have liked some more.
So why can’t I say I loved this book? Maybe are my prejudices preventing me to let myself go?

NB: this book will be released in english in the next spring.
You can check here.

***Italiano***

Fai bei sogni

di Massimo Gramellini

Fai bei sogni

Recensione di Giulia Bertelli

Spesso mi faccio prendere da preconcetti che mi costruisco da sola. Basta che io prenda in mano un libro in un momento sbagliato dell’anno, non gli dia la giusta attenzione e metta in un angolo tutta l’opera di uno scrittore. Può anche succedere che io mi basi troppo su pareri di altre persone e che certe opere non le prenda nemmeno in considerazione.

Qualche giorno fa ero in biblioteca a cercare dei libri per un lavoro, avevo del tempo e ho deciso di vagare tra gli scaffali senza una meta o un nome preciso da inseguire. Ho deciso di lasciarmi trasportare da titoli e trame e qualche idea l’ho trovata.
Non ho portato davvero a casa quei libri, sto cercando di fare la brava  e di attenermi alla mia lista.
Un libro, però è venire via con me: Fai bei sogni di Gramellini. Ho passato gran parte del 2012 a sentir parlare di questo libro, ma non mi ci ero mai avvicinata.
Uno dei lati positivi del prendere i libri in biblioteca, è che puoi sbagliare. Puoi lanciarti in orizzonti inesplorati senza la paura di farti male. Provi un libro, non funziona tra di voi, lo riporti il giorno dopo. Spesso, però, prendi un’ispirazione, la porti a casa e te ne innamori.

E’ successo questo con Fai bei sogni? Più o meno. Sulla strada verso casa ho iniziato a leggerlo, ho continuato lungo il tragitto che devo fare a piedi dal tram a casa e credo di aver messo giù il libro il tempo di salutare il mio ragazzo, mangiare, distrarmi un’oretta e ho continuato. Non l’ho finito nella notte, purtroppo mi succede ancora di avere sonno, mi trattengo finché non casco con la testa nel libro.

Al mattino, però, appena sveglia, ho subito ripreso e nel pomeriggio l’ho finito.
Deduzione ovvia: mi è piaciuto. Non posso dire che sia amore e il perché forse non lo so. Non si tratta della scrittura: è veloce e scorre via senza essere banale. La trama è carina, è autobiografica e si sente. Forse mi aspettavo un po’ più di introspezione, non che non ci sia, ma qualcosa in più non mi sarebbe dispiaciuto.
Allora perché non riesco a dire che l’ho amato? Che siano ancora i miei preconcetti a non farmi lanciare?

Puoi acquistare il libro qui

Comments
4 Responses to “BOOK REVIEW: Sweet Dreams, a novel BY MASSIMO GRAMELLINI”
  1. lapinsu says:

    anche a me è piaciuto molto, sopratutto la prima parte (il racconto del bambino), un po’ meno la seconda parte (il racconto dell’adulto)

    • some romanian guy says:

      i read it in italian and i must say i got much more than i expected. this author, though i didn’t know him before this book, really impressed me. there are some passages in this book that give you that “it’s so beautiful, that it hurts” feeling, that feeling that there’s so much universal truth in that particular phrase. the story was pretty interesting and with a twist (but honestly i was expecting the twist to happen after a few tens of pages – that doesn’t mean however that it’s a predictable book), although it wasn’t it, the story, what really impressed me. it were these isolated moments of pure writing brilliancy, like i said before, which made an impact. i start reading the book in the afternoon and i couldn’t let it out of my hands until late in the night, when i had finished it.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Recensione su Fluster Magazine […]

  2. […] Recensione su Fluster Magazine […]



Leave a Reply

